The cream cheese incident

I had an atrocious experience while making my boyfriends birthday cheesecake. To make a long story short I ended up with 10 packages of extra cream cheese. In a valiant effort not to waste anything, I have ransacked my kitchen to make use of the 5 extra pounds of cream-cheese-goodness without going to the store to buy more accompaniments.

First, I found brownie mix. I made the brownies according to the package. I filled cupcake liners half way up with plain-jane mix. Then I beat a pack of cream cheese, about 3 tablespoons of lemon juice, and 1/4 cup powdered sugar together. I put this on top of the brownie mix and baked 5 min longer than instructions stated. The result was SO GOOD!

20120605-161742.jpg

After having an ego boost from the brownies, I decided to make a cheese ball. It occurred to me that I had ham and pineapple in the fridge so I opted to try a “Hawaiian cheese ball”. I blended together two packs of cream cheese, deli ham, canned pineapple, chopped chives, salt & pepper. I was hoping to find nuts or trail mix of some kind to coat the outside, no such luck. I turned to a bag of sour cream and onion potato chips as my only option. Surprisingly, this turned out great too!

20120605-162842.jpg

With 7 packages of cream cheese left to be used and a large ego, I decided to be inventive. I had stayed in the proverbial cream-cheese box too long! I found taco seasoning and diced canned tomatoes. I mixed this with two blocks of cream cheese. My plan is to get ground chicken and cook it in this sauce to make an ‘enchilada’ type dish. The finger-dip taste test was good, but I will leave a comment on if this was a flop or a new favorite.

20120605-163609.jpg

With seeing a light at the end of the tunnel and half of my cream cheese gone, I found my very favorite salsa. It’s a wv natural company that makes AMAZING stuff! I added my jar of blue smoke hot salsa to a block of cream cheese for a mild extra yummy dip. {as a side note: their peach salsa is the best I have ever had, I highly recommend to any salsa fan}

20120605-164821.jpg

To finish off my cream cheese explosion, I made pinwheels. Tortilla shells smeared with heaps of cream cheese, then stacked with meats and vegetables; it can’t get much easier. I happened to have turkey, American slices and spinach. These are ingredients to my favorite sandwich, so they should be good wrapped up in a tortilla. I cut them into bite size portions & gobbled them up for lunch.

20120605-170334.jpg

Three hours and five pounds of cream cheese later, I’m finally done! I’d love to hear any recipes with cream cheese in case I find myself in this predicament again. — Rooter

Leave a Reply

